Contact Us          Registered Charity

EiPN Team Award

The Excellence in Perioperative Nursing (EiPN) Team Award is presented to a perioperative nursing team who have made an outstanding contribution to one of the following:

  • the delivery of patient care within their health care facility

  • the promotion of perioperative nursing practice. 

The award is one of high profile recognition with no monetary value. 

The award is presented at the biennial national conference where the team receives a certificate of recognition. 

The team may work collaboratively with the departments of surgery and anaesthetics, the Central Sterilising Unit and/or other health care units to achieve an outstanding contribution to the delivery of patient care. 

Teams shall apply for the award.

Applications close on 12 June 2024.

Application guidelines

The team's contact person must have current full membership of their state or territory Local Association and identify all members of the team and those who are members of ACORN. 

A perioperative team is defined as nurses working within an operating suite service. The team must comprise nurses from amongst the following ACORN membership categories: 

Acute pain nurse

Anaesthetic nurse

Circulating nurse

Day of surgery admission nurse

Day surgery nurse

Instrument nurse

Perioperative educator

Perioperative Nurse Surgeon's Assistant

Perioperative researcher

Post Anaesthesia Care Unit nurse

The team will have demonstrated a contribution that meets outcomes from among the following criteria:

  • an involvement in evidence-based research that supports an improvement to the delivery of patient care

  • an outstanding contribution to the delivery of patient care

  • an active promotion of perioperative nursing practice

  • leadership in perioperative nursing

  • promotion of the ACORN standards

  • an involvement in broadening ACORN's membership base to include all nurses who practice perioperative procedures

  • an ability to promote perioperative nursing and enhance recruitment to the specialty. 

Application procedure

Applications close on 12 June 2024

Download the application form

EiPN Team Award recipients

2016          St Vincent's Health Australia Perioperative Thermal Care Collaborative

2020          Lyell McEwin Perioperative Unit (SA)