Excellence in Perioperative Nursing awards

Excellence in Perioperative Nursing (EiPN) awards are presented to ACORN members who have made an outstanding contribution to perioperative nursing. 

The awards are of high profile recognition with no monetary value. 

The awards are presented at the biennial national conference.

Nominations are made by a Local Association or by the ACORN board. 

An Excellence in Perioperative Nursing award is presented in the following three categories.

Nominations and applications close on 31 January 2022.

Please click on the categories above to find out more about each award.

2020 EiPN award winners

Congratulations to Jenny Cubitt, Nurse Manager at Sydney’s Canterbury Hospital, who won the 2020 EiPN Individual award, and Adelaide’s Lyell McEwin Perioperative Unit who won the 2020 EiPN Team award.

Jenny Cubitt

Jenny is recognised for her outstanding career-long contribution to perioperative nursing, both as a mentor and advocate. She was nominated for the award by the New South Wales Operating Theatre Association (NSW OTA), where she has been a long-standing contributor in numerous roles.

In her advocacy work, Jenny has been a member of the NSW Surgical Services Taskforce for more than a decade, contributed to the Medical Industry Association’s review of its ‘Operating Theatre Protocols’ course and been a driving force behind the introduction of the ‘transition to perioperative practice’ program in the NSW public health sector (recently approved for the private health sector).

Lyell McEwin Perioperative Unit

Adelaide’s Lyell McEwin Perioperative Unit is recognised for its outstanding commitment to high quality patient care. The team collaborated to develop and implement an impressive audit process to become ACORN Audit Champions.