Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia

The Australian College of Perioperative Nurses (ACORN)'s vision is for Australian patients to receive the safest and highest quality perioperative care in the world. Upholding standards for practice define us as a community of perioperative nursing professionals dedicated to providing excellent care.

The ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia (the Standards) constitute the specialty knowledge of the perioperative nursing community in Australia and represent the accepted standard for professional practice. Individual standards are regularly reviewed and updated by a team of member volunteers according to a rigorous, structured process managed by ACORN's Standards Committee and the ACORN Professional Standards Officer. 

Accessibility to the Standards is important to ACORN so electronic versions of revised or new standards are made available to subscribers four times a year, as well as a new print edition every two years.

ACORN released the current 15th edition in May 2018.

The launch of the next hard copy edition of the Standards is on schedule for May 2020 to coincide with the ACORN Conference 2020 in Sydney.

ACORN is always looking to build upon and improve the Standards as well as improving their use by perioperative nurses. Please provide ACORN with your feedback.

Standards Committee

Trent Batchelor (Chair)

Lilian Ghosh

Kasey Irwin

Jodie Hulm

Patricia Nicholson

Rachel Short

Hard copies or electonic subscriptions of the Standards can be purchased online via ACORN's Online Shop.