Standards shop


The ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nurses defines the minimum acceptable standards for practice to deliver safe high-quality care for Australian perioperative patients. These standards are designed to be used by nurses and non-nursing perioperative staff and are rigorous and evidence based. Each standard aligns with the National Safety and Quality Health Service standards ensuring that when perioperative practitioners comply with the ACORN standards they exceed the national standards.



The ACORN standards come as two distinct volumes:

  • Volume one: Clinical Standards
  • Volume Two: Professional Standards

In total there are 35 standards, 15 explanatory and position statements and 13 guidelines contained within the two volumes.


Access to the standards is available as a 12-month e-subscription by selecting an option below:

Standards: Personal-use Licence

  Standards Facility Licence


E-subscriptions can also be provided to Universities and Industry Partners. Please contact ACORN via email for pricing.


Practice Audit Tools




The ACORN Practice Audit Tools (PATs) enable perioperative nurses to audit, measure and evaluate their compliance with the Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia. The PATs provide a measure of the quality of perioperative care and can be utilised to improve practice and enact change.


The Practice Audit Tools are available as two bundles and contain six audits in each bundle:

  • Practice Audit Tools 1: Asepsis and clinical care

  • Practice Audit Tools 2: Staff and patient safety



pats 2


The Practice audit tools are available as subscription based downloadable spreadsheets. Each subscription gives you access to:

  • A 12-month subscription to access the PAT
  • Access to 12 individual PATs
  • An electronic booklet for each PAT
  • Access to 3 training webinars


Multiple Licensing options are available below: 

Purchase Practice Audit Tools (PATs)